Skip to content Skip to main navigation Report an accessibility issue

Faculty Research Mentor Award Winners

This award recognizes University of Tennessee, Knoxville faculty members who have demonstrated an outstanding commitment to mentoring undergraduate researchers.

Faculty must be nominated by at least two undergraduate students, with at least one having participated in the recent annual Exhibition of Undergraduate Research and Creative Achievement.

2019 Award Winners

Steven Abel, Tickle College of Engineering

Matthew Cooper, College of Arts & Sciences – Social Sciences

Graham Hickling, Herbert College of Agriculture

Keerthi Krishnan, College of Arts & Sciences – Natural Sciences

Emily Paskewitz, College of Communication and Information

Lance Saunders, Haslam College of Business



2018 Award Winners

Sunha Choi, College of Social Work

James Chyz, Haslam College of Business

Erin Darby, College of Arts & Sciences – Humanities

Eirik Endeve, College of Arts & Sciences – Natural Sciences

Jon Hathaway, Tickle College of Engineering

Spencer Olmstead, College of Education, Health and Human Sciences

Gregory Stuart, College of Arts & Sciences – Social Sciences


2017 Award Winners

Sunha Choi, College of Social Work

Matthew Cooper, College of Arts & Sciences, Social Sciences division

Vermont Dia, College of Agricultural Sciences and Natural Resources

Sarah Lebeis, College of Arts & Sciences, Natural Sciences division

Kevin Stevens, College of Architecture and Design

Jorge Variego, College of Arts and Sciences, Humanities division

Michelle Violanti, College of Communication and Information


2016 Award Winners

Anne Smith, Haslam College of Business

Dan Roberts, College of Arts & Sciences

Sadie Hutson, College of Nursing

Sherry Cox, College of Veterinary Medicine