Skip to content Skip to main navigation Report an accessibility issue

National Conferences on Undergraduate Research (NCUR)

National Conference on Undergraduate Research - Office of ...

NCUR 2021


The 35th annual National Conferences on Undergraduate Research will take place April 1-3, 2021, at California State University, Long Beach.

With more than 4,000 undergraduate students in attendance, this is the largest annual gathering of undergraduate research students presenting their research and creative activities.  Conference participants also network with peers and faculty members, as well as meet with graduate school and corporate recruiters.

The University of Tennessee, Knoxville usually offers travel assistance to students with accepted abstracts, however, due to COVID-19, university travel is currently restricted.  This site will be updated as new information is available. Due to the distance of travel, fewer scholarships will be available than for past locations.

Abstracts can be submitted from September 30, 2020, to December 6, 2020.

If university travel is permitted, funding will be limited this year due to the conference location.  Please submit your travel scholarship application at the same time as you submit your abstract.  No late travel scholarships will be accepted.  We also ask that you request funding from your department, to help defray travel costs.

Students traveling to NCUR are ineligible for the UGR Student Travel Grants Program and must apply for the NCUR travel grant specifically.

**Please note that students who graduate in December are eligible to submit their abstracts and attend the conference but are not eligible for travel funding**

Submit your abstract HERE

(Abstract submission is not yet active for 2021)


Apply for NCUR travel grant  HERE

(This application will be open during the NCUR abstract submission window.)

***Please submit your travel scholarship form at the same time as you submit your abstract if you wish to apply for travel funding.

***All students submitting a travel grant request must also be a registered member of URSA (Undergraduate Research Student Association)  Register HERE


Important Dates

Online Abstract submission opens TBD (September 2020)
Student Abstract Submission Deadline TBD (December 2020)
Review of Abstract Submissions by NCUR Dec. 2020 – Jan. 2021
Abstract Decision Notifications Late January 2021
NCUR 2021 Travel Commitment Deadline January 31, 2021
Early Conference Registration Deadline (Select Enhanced Member Institutions Rate)TBD TBD
NCUR 2021 April 1-3, 2021

Past Events:


After thoughtful consideration and careful monitoring of the coronavirus disease (COVID-19) situation, and in coordination with the Council on Undergraduate Research, Montana State University is canceling the National Conference on Undergraduate Research that was scheduled for March 26-28 on our campus in Bozeman.


Held at Kennesaw State University

Held at the University of Central Oklahoma

Held at the University of Memphis

1987 University of North Carolina at Asheville
1988 University of North Carolina at Asheville
1989 Trinity University
1990 Union College
1991 California Institute of Technology
1992 University of Minnesota
1993 The University of Utah
1994 Western Michigan University
1995 Union College
1996 University of North Carolina at Asheville
1997 University of Texas at Austin
1998 Salisbury State University
1999 University of Rochester
2000 University of Montana, Missoula
2001 University of Kentucky
2002 University of Wisconsin, Whitewater
2003 University of Utah
2004 Indiana Univ. and Purdue Univ. Indianapolis
2005 Washington and Lee Univ. and Virginia Military Institute
2006 University of North Carolina at Asheville
2007 Dominican University of California
2008 Salisbury University
2009 University of Wisconsin, LaCrosse
2010 University of Montana
2011 Ithaca College
2012 Weber State University
2013 University of Wisconsin, LaCrosse
2014 University of Kentucky
2015 Eastern Washington University
2016 University of North Carolina, Asheville
2017 University of Memphis
2018 University of Central Oklahoma
2019 Kennesaw State University